If You Are the Victim of a Road Rage Motor Vehicle Accident
Road rage crashes happen no matter the season and the weather. These anger fueled accidents can lead to catastrophic injuries and tens of thousands of dollars in damages. If you’ve been injured in a road rage accident in Delaware, a lawyer with experience in overseeing auto accidents can guide you through every step of this difficult process.
The Reality of Road Rage
Before we begin, let’s take a closer look at the problem at hand. From incidences in news reports to firsthand experience, each of us is familiar with road rage. In fact, reports indicate that roughly 1/3 of the public have (at some point) committed a form of this dangerous behavior. Although most cases are generally innocent and only involve shouting or blaring a car horn, some behavior can take a dangerous turn as driver attempt to shove other drivers off the road.
Simply put, “road rage” is classified as a collection of aggressive behaviors exhibited by a driver traveling along a roadway. Ultimately, these activities involve shouting, making lewd gestures, using a weapon, or crashing (with malicious intent) into the victim’s vehicle.
Road Rage Statistics
Based on reports from the State of Delaware’s Office of Highway Safety, an estimated 116 people died in motor vehicle crashes directly caused by aggressive driving (from 2013-2015). Likewise, officials have reported that an additional 10,337 people sustained injuries from these incidences. Only last year, in 2018, 37% of fatal motor vehicle accidents were related to aggressive behavior.
Here are some accidents that qualify as aggressive driving (road rage):
- Failure to yield the right of way
- Driving through red lights or stop signs
- Making dangerous lane changes
- Speeding past a stopped school bus
Delaware Laws for Aggressive Driving
Back on June 30, 1999, the Delaware General Assembly officially passed the first law prohibiting aggressive driving. Based on this law, if a driver is found guilty of three traffic offenses (listed above), this individual will be charged with an aggressive driving offense. As a result, the culprit will face a fine between $100 and $300 or spend 10 to 30 days in jail. Additional punishment may include a behavioral modification course or driving class.
Your Delaware Legal Solution
Our attorneys at Edelstein, Martin, & Nelson are passionate about our practice and are knowledgeable in the laws, rules, and statutes surrounding an unfortunate and dangerous accident involving road rage and aggression in the State of Delaware. We fight for the rights of every victim and the members of victims’ families and will help you receive justice for such tragic and unfortunate circumstances. If you or your loved one has become the victim of a motor vehicle accident caused by road rage, contact our office at 800-300-0909 to file a malpractice lawsuit today.