What To Do If You’ve Been Injured by a Drunk Driver in Delaware
No one expects to fall victim to a drink driving accident. In one quick instant, a nighttime of happiness spent with your friends or a fun day with your children in the city can be brought to a sudden, violent conclusion. Within seconds, you can suffer debilitating injuries, or a loved one can lose their life. Even in these terrible circumstances, resources for such catastrophic incidences like this are at your fingertips. Our Delaware auto accident lawyers are here to guide you through every step of this difficult process.
Drunk Driving Statistics
An estimated 29 people die as the result of a car accident caused by alcohol-induced behaviors or actions. As of 2016, that means that 1 person died every 50 minutes each day. While DUI incidents of this nature have decreased over the past decades, these catastrophic incidents continue to claim 100,000 lives annually and cost $44 billion.
In all 50 states in the US including Delaware, a person will be arrested if their blood-alcohol content (BAC) as 0.08 grams per deciliter of blood (g/dL) or higher. In 2016 (on average) 10,497 people died in crashes where a driver’s BACs were 0.8 g/dL. However, even the slightest hint of alcohol in the bloodstream can negatively affect a person’s driving ability. For example, in 2016, approximately 2,017 people were killed in alcohol-related accidents where drivers’ BACs were .01 to .07 g/dL.
Penalties for a DUI in Delaware
In the State of Delaware, a driver who is convicted of driving under the influence of alcohol (at or above the unlawful level of 0.8 g/dL) can face penalties ranging from a hefty fine to lengthy jail time. Let’s take a look at statistics for all seven degrees of offense:
- 1st Offense: 12-24 month license suspension, $500-$1,500 fines, and 6 months jail time
- 2nd Offense: 24-30 month license suspension, $750-$2,500 fines, 2-18 months jail time
- 3rd Offense: 24-36 month license suspension, $1,500-$5,000 fines, 1-2 years jail time
- 4th Offense: 60-month license suspension, $3,000-$7,000 fines, 2-5 years jail time
- 5th Offense: charge of class-E felony, $3,500-$10,000 fines, 3-5 years jail time
- 6th Offense: charge of class-D felony, $5,000-$10,000 fines, 5-8 years jail time
- 7th Offense: charge of class-C felony, $10,000-$15,000 fines, 10-15 years jail time
Compensation for Victims of DUI Accidents
For victims of drunk driving incidences and other crime-related accidents, the State of Delaware offers a detailed Victims Services Section, sponsored by the Delaware State Police. Besides a victim hotline (for initial reports), you can also find additional resources through the list of resources (categorized by county) and connections to services including Mothers Against Drunk Driving (MADD).
Wilmington Car Accident Attorney
Our attorneys at Edelstein, Martin, & Nelson are passionate about our practice and are knowledgeable in the laws, rules, and statutes surrounding DUI accidents in Delaware. We fight for the rights of every victim and the members of victims’ families and will help you receive the compensation and legal rights you deserve. If you or loved ones have been victimized by a drunk driving accident or if your loved one has died as the result of a drunk driver, contact us at 800-300-0909 to speak with one of our qualified attorneys.